Long Time

Posted: May 17, 2011 in Marketing, Social Media, Thoughts

It has truly been a long time since I have updated this blog and I am truly sorry. Life at Health Care Credit Union has been a little hectic. I run the Social Media, Business Development and all of the traditional marketing functions, as well as run a bi-weekly Twitter chat for credit unions (#SM4CU), blog for the local credit union league and was asked to join two separate committees for the CUNA Marketing and Business Development Council. Needless to say, this has not left a lot of time to update my personal blog.

I wanted to share a little that I have learned, on the social media front, while running the day-to-day marketing operations. Health Care Credit Union is by no means a large and well-known brand. Add on to the fact that the financial services industry and you have a very unexciting product to get out on the interwebs. Pretty tough sell.

So this is where monitoring arrives. To truly succeed for a brand of any size, you must monitor your name, industry keywords and (especially) your competition. I have come across tweets mentioning my competition that they never saw. It could be crucial that you do not miss any of these tweets, think of what it may say! (This one was an employee not keeping in line with the company mission, and mentioning the company in the tweet)

It is also a chance to increase visibility of your products and services in relation to much larger competition. I received this tweet from a potential customer that mentions credit unions with assets of close to 100x our size! Talk about great exposure that we would have never received before!

These are just a few of the examples of how a non-exciting industry can use social media, but with monitoring at its core.

Do you have any great examples? I would love to hear them!

Comments
  1. Nice post. I really do have to set up that monitoring. I’ve yet to have the time to do it.

    • Matt Hodson says:

      Yeah it will help a lot. You will find the time though, I am sure of it. I know you want the CU to succeed and this is a natural stepping stone. If you need help, you know where to reach me. See you on the web buddy!

Leave a Reply

